Contributing To Open Source (Part III)

This is a task for Google Code In 2016, under Blog E: Interview two contributors to Open Source in a language and region of your choice and document it in a blog on WordPress.com, Youtube or elsewhere. Zenon is first from the left while Samuel is second from the right.

Interviewee 1: Zenon

Question: What is your name and to what project to you contribute?

Zenon: My name is Zenon Hans Taneka. I contribute to the FOSSASIA Open Event projects and some in-school projects such as game engines for competitions and other events.

Question: How do you contribute to Open Source Technologies?

Zenon: I contribute to FOSSASIA Open Event repositories and submit some pull requests to fix some issues during the Google Code In 2016 event.

Question: What does Open Source mean for you? What is important to you about Open Source?

Zenon: Open Source is where I get to contribute to a project and can help thousands of other users using the software. What is important to me about Open Source software is that I can harness the power of such projects to develop applications that I can use in my daily life.

Question: What do you like about FOSSASIA and Open Source?

Zenon: I am able to have an avenue, through FOSSASIA, to contribute to Open Source projects that are find meaningful to other people.

Question:  How can people participate in your project?

Zenon: Go onto GitHub, and follow me as well as FOSSASIA. You can contribute, along with me, to other projects that I have been doing.

Question: Will you join the FOSSASIA Summit from March 17-19, 2017 in Singapore?

Zenon: Unfortunately, no.

Interviewee 2: Samuel

Question: What is your name and to what project to you contribute?

Samuel: My name is Samuel Chua, I contribute to projects such as those in BRL-CAD and FOSSASIA, as well as projects that my classmates and extracurricular club embark on.

Question: How do you contribute to Open Source Technologies?

Samuel: I design some logos and write some pieces of documentation to aid first-time users and contributors to Open Source.

Question: What does Open Source mean for you? What is important to you about Open Source?

Samuel: Open Source is software whose creators allowed other users to use it freely without having to pay fees or royalties. Open Source is important to me as I rely on them for numerous projects.

Question: What do you like about FOSSASIA and Open Source?

Samuel: FOSSASIA gives me a way to give back to the Open Source community as I can do tasks that would contribute to Open Source organisations and repositories.

Question:  How can people participate in your project?

Samuel: They can sign up for Google Code In and contribute to a range of Open Source organisations.

Question: Will you join the FOSSASIA Summit from March 17-19, 2017 in Singapore?

Samuel: I have no idea.

Leave a Reply

